

FIRST REPORT

OF THE

LEGISLATIVE ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE

Second Session
Fifty-seventh Legislative Assembly
of the
Province of New Brunswick

June 7, 2012

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

Hon. Mr. Graham, Chair Mr. Urquhart, Vice Chair

Mr. C. Landry

Hon. Mr. P. Robichaud Hon. Ms. Blais, Q.C. Mr. B. Macdonald

Mr. Betts

Mr. Fraser

Mr. D. Landry

Mr. Melanson

To the Honourable
The Legislative Assembly of
The Province of New Brunswick

Mr. Speaker:

Your Committee on Legislative Administration begs leave to submit this their First Report.

At a meeting of the Committee held on January 26, 2012, Mrs. Loredana Catalli Sonier, Q.C., announced her decision to retire as Clerk of the Legislative Assembly.

Mrs. Catalli Sonier, Q.C. began her career at the Legislative Assembly in 1985 as Clerk Assistant (Procedural). She was appointed Clerk of the Legislative Assembly by resolution of the House on November 30, 1993.

The Committee wishes to express its sincere appreciation to the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly, Mrs. Catalli Sonier, Q.C., for her professionalism, dedication, and exemplary service to the Legislative Assembly and the Province.

The Clerk of the Legislative Assembly is the chief permanent officer of the Legislature and the principle authority on the laws, practices and privileges of Parliament. The Clerk's responsibilities include advising the Speaker and Members on questions of parliamentary law, procedure, and interpretation of the rules and practices of the House. The Clerk is also responsible for the overall administration of the Legislative Assembly and is Secretary of the Legislative Administration Committee. The Clerk serves all Members equally, regardless of party affiliation, and must act with impartiality and discretion.

At a meeting held April 4, 2012, the Committee agreed that Donald J. Forestell, senior Clerk Assistant and Clerk of Committees, had the necessary qualifications and 19 years of experience at the Table to serve as the next Clerk of the House.

Your Committee therefore recommends to the House that Donald J. Forestell be appointed Clerk of the Legislative Assembly effective September 1, 2012.

And your Committee asks leave to make a further report.

Carl Urquhart
Deputy Speaker, and
Member of the
Legislative Administration Committee